Home > Headlines

Neuromorphic computing with nanoscale spintronic oscillators

Nowadays artificial intelligence algorithms have become very efficient for speech or image recognition. But running these programs on conventional computer architectures uses ten thousands time more energy than a brain to complete the same task. Dramatic reduction of energy consumption could be achieved by building brain-inspired computers massively integrating artificial neurons and synapses. However, assembling such huge amount of components (at least a million) in a reasonable space requires nanoscale devices. Until now, nobody had been able to fabricate a nano-neuron stable enough to compute reliably despite its small dimensions.

In this paper [1] an experimental demonstration of stable neuron behavior at the nanoscale is made by performing speech recognition with spin-torque nano-oscillators. The highly stable non-linear magnetization dynamics of spin-torque oscillators was used to mimic a neuron behavior. Each gyration of the magnetization is converted thanks to magneto-resistive effects into an oscillation of the voltage emitted by the oscillator. These oscillations are similar to the spikes emitted by a neuron. Leveraging this response, spoken digits said by different speaker were recognized with a success rate of 99.6%. These results open up a path to compact intelligent chips able to learn and to adapt to the ever changing and ambiguous situations of the real world. Such chips could find numerous applications in every field where recognition is critical, for instance for smart motion control of robots or autonomous vehicles, medical diagnosis assistance or prosthesis design.

This work was made in collaboration between CNRS/Thales laboratory, the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), the Center for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (C2N) and the National Institute for Science and Technology (NIST).


[1 J. Torrejon, M. Riou, F. - A. Araujo, S. Tsunegi, G. Khalsa, D. Querlioz, P. Bortolotti, V. Cros, K. Yakushiji, A. Fukushima, H. Kubota, S. Yuasa, M. D. Stiles, J. Grollier, Neuromorphic computing with nanoscale spintronic oscillators. Nature. 547, 428-431 (2017).

Accueil > À la une

Des calculs neuromorphiques réalisés par des oscillateurs spintroniques

Récemment, les algorithmes d’intelligence artificielle sont devenus très performants pour la reconnaissance visuelle ou vocale. Mais, l’exécution de ces programmes sur nos ordinateurs conventionnels consomme dix mille fois plus d’énergie qu’un cerveau humain pour réaliser la même tâche. Pour réduire la consommation électrique, il faut construire des ordinateurs inspirés du cerveau intégrant un très grand nombre de neurones et de synapses. Assembler autant de composants (au moins de l’ordre du million) dans un espace raisonnable nécessite que ceux-ci soient de taille nanométrique. Cependant, jusqu’ici, personne n’a su fabriquer un nano-neurone artificiel suffisamment stable pour calculer de façon fiable malgré une taille miniature.

Dans cet article [1] nous démontrons expérimentalement que des oscillateurs spintroniques constituent des nano-neurones suffisamment stables pour réaliser des tâches cognitives complexes de reconnaissance vocale. La dynamique non-linéaire de l’aimantation des oscillateurs spintroniques est particulièrement stable. Nous l’avons utilisé pour imiter un comportement de neurone. Chaque giration de l’aimantation est convertie grâce à des phénomènes magnéto-résistifs en une oscillation de la tension émise par l’oscillateur. Ces oscillations sont analogues aux impulsions électriques émises par un neurone. En tirant partie de cette réponse nous avons pu reconnaître des chiffres prononcés par différents locuteurs avec un succès de 99.6%. L’objectif à terme est de réaliser des puces miniature intelligentes, consommant très peu d’électricité, capables d’apprendre et de s’adapter aux situations mouvantes et ambigües du monde réel. Ces puces électroniques trouveront des applications multiples dans tous les domaines mettant en jeu des tâches de reconnaissance, par exemple pour diriger intelligemment des robots ou des véhicules autonomes, aider les médecins dans leur diagnostic ou encore améliorer les prothèses médicales.

Ce travail est le fruit d’une collaboration entre l’Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS-Thales, le National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), le Centre de Nanoscience et Nanotechnology (C2N) et le National Institute for Science and Technology (NIST).


[1 J. Torrejon, M. Riou, F. - A. Araujo, S. Tsunegi, G. Khalsa, D. Querlioz, P. Bortolotti, V. Cros, K. Yakushiji, A. Fukushima, H. Kubota, S. Yuasa, M. D. Stiles, J. Grollier, Neuromorphic computing with nanoscale spintronic oscillators. Nature. 547, 428-431 (2017).